Getting Healthy

Now that my finances are more or less under control I am embarking on a new task in my Finding Balance journey. For pretty much all of my life I have struggled with feeling good about my health…ok fine…my weight. I have never been a slender, thin or small girl. No those adjectives have never been said about me. I did here the terms chubby, fluffy, big boned and from the meaner people fat, blubber butt, and Good Year Blimp. I always wanted to be the girl in the magazine. Thin, beautiful, sexy! Hell even cute or adorable would have made me feel good. But it never happened and so here I am at age 35(nearly 36) writing about it and hopefully finding a balance that makes me feel comfortable in my own skin.

I am not going to show “fat” pictures of myself and later show “skinny” pictures of myself. I’m 35 and my priorities have changed. I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to feel beautiful or sexy, what woman doesn’t want to feel like that? Feeling beautiful will be bonus of being healthy 🙂 

Being Healthy, that’s my goal. It’s not just about the weight anymore. I’m older now and with my families health history I need to start thinking healthy. That being said I have a few “hold me ups’ that I must overcome before my goal will be accomplished.

Hold Me Ups:

1. I LOVE food! Well except for most vegetables.

2. I have a very strict grocery budget that doesn’t allow for a lot of fresh or unprocessed foods.

3. I have a sweet that could out shine Willy Wonka and his entire chocolate factory!

4. Not only am I an emotional shopper, I’m also an emotional eater. Feeling sad or angry? Stuff my face with food! Happy? Celebrate with food!

My Stats:

Height: 5 feet 0 inches

Weight: 220 lbs (OMG! I am hyperventilating! I can not believe I just put that out there for everyone to see!) Breathe it’s just a Fucking number, it can be changed.

Blood Pressure: (at last check) 122/88

Pulse: (again, at last check) 87 beats per minute

Family History: High blood pressure, high cholesterol, diabetes, cancer, vein issues, heart disease, seizures and probably other things I don’t know about.

Food intake: Semi healthy. Translation: I eat salads and fruit on occasion

Exercise: Lately? I’m lucky if my ass leaves the chair for more than 5 minutes. In the not so distant past I have worked out at a gym.

I want everybody to understand that none of these numbers or words make up who I am as a person. But these things do control how long I am on this plane of existence, hence the need for change.

Last Friday my blood pressure went up to 149/93 and pulse was 97. I had a massive headache and was dizzy. RINGA DING DING BABY THIS IS YOUR WAKE UP CALL!

So here I am. Stick with me on my Getting Healthy quest and we can learn something together 🙂

Leave a Reply

