A Poem just for the hell of it

Bittersweet

Bittersweet memories coming out to play

I hear the thunder coming from so far away

I see the lighting strike the ground

Powerless to stop it I can no longer delay

The memories make my body sway

I drink them in and smile as the tears fall down

Slowly I remember

Gently wipe the tears away

Bittersweet memories are coming out to play

Breathing through the sorrow

For that long forgotten tomorrow

Bittersweet memories

They come with the deafening thunder

My careful mask pierced by bright lightening

Shocking…but not so terribly frightening

I dance around the pain until my nerves begin to fray

Bittersweet memories coming out to play

A gentle wind sweeps through

Memories take on a different hue

The bitter falls away

Leaving only the sweet to play

Gentle fingers touch my lips

Of these memories I take slow steady sips

The bitter comes from the pain

From knowing I’ll never have this again

The bitter pain is stripped away

As the sweet memories come out to play

The sweet that is left is a gift

Through these memories I sift

Knowing that I am lucky

Lucky to have known such love

I smile, dance, and sway

As these sweet memories come out to play

Leave a Reply

