Anniversary

Image

On October 18, 2003 I got married. It was a wonderful day! I had a pretty dress and family and friends and the man I loved standing beside me. This year would have been our 9th wedding anniversary. The day went by mostly unremembered. I was dealing with my sick cat and some pretty low feelings. But I think I am finally ready to share a few things. Justin was sick when we met. He was on dialysis for kidney failure. I loved his ability to accept his illness and live anyway. It wasn’t easy for him, he had to be hooked up to a machine 3 days a week for several hours at a time and he always felt crappy afterward(no surprise there I’m sure). Despite all this he worked and laughed and he made me happy.  Justin received a kidney transplant a year after we got married. I was thrilled! He was moderately excited 🙂 2 years after that we had our beautiful daughter. Life was good. In late 2010 Justin started feeling sick again. In January 2011 he died. Our marriage wasn’t perfect, but then I never expect perfection. We had our problems. What couple doesn’t? I still wish for more time. The truth is that even though I am hurt and angry at his loss, I still thank the powers that be that we had even that short time together.

Leave a Reply

